Disability Advisory Committee (DAC) Inaugural Meeting Minutes Summary March 17, 2015

Introductory remarks were provided by the following individuals: Kris Monteith, the Commission's Acting Chief of Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB), Karen Peltz Strauss, the Deputy Chief of the CGB, Gregory Hlibok, the Chief of the CGB Disability Rights Office, Elaine E. Gardner, the DAC Designated Federal Officer (DFO), and Andrew Phillips, the DAC Chair. The introduction of the list of DAC members then ensued; the names of the attending members are listed in Appendix A. The agenda is attached as Appendix B.

Paula Silberthau, an attorney with the Commission Office of General Counsel, provided an overview of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) and protocols for the DAC as a newly founded Federal advisory committee. For any further questions, contact Elaine Gardner, as the DAC DFO, at dac@fcc.gov. [Elaine, is there a link to FACA rules, etc that is or will be shared with members about FACA rules etc? If not, I'll spell out Paula's points here if you'd like.]

Elaine Gardner, DAC DFO, provided an overview of DAC, and its new website, www.fcc.gpv/disability-advisory-committee, where many supporting documents may be found. Karen Peltz Strauss added that so many qualified people applied and that those who are serving only on subcommittees are just as critical with their contributions as those serving on the DAC.

Commissioner O'Rielly provided welcoming remarks to thank the group for their service, and that their work "can be an amazing equalizer in today's society." A few points were highlighted: that the issues must be reviewed within the context of the entire communications sphere; hence the need to consider the ultimate cost to the American consumer of any recommendation. Also understand the Commission's past work and rules, and limitations on jurisdiction. Finally, do not underestimate the benefits of incremental improvements to users.

The meeting paused at 11:45 AM for lunch and four subcommittee meetings. DAC reconvened at 3:45 PM to share the top three priorities as follows:

- Relay/Equipment Distribution Subcommittee co-chaired by Brenda Kelly-Frey and Angela Officer (absent), and facilitated by FCC staff Caitlin Vogus and Gregory Hlibok.
 - 1.
 - 2.
 - 3.
- Communications Subcommittee co-chaired by Susan Mazrui and Mark Richert, and facilitated by FCC staff Rosaline Crawford and Eliot Greenwald.
- Video Programming Subcommittee co-chaired by Lise Hamlin and Thomas Wlodkowski, and facilitated by FCC staff Suzy Rosen Singleton and Rosaline Crawford.
- Emergency Communications Committee co-chaired by Toni Dunne and Richard Ray, and facilitated by FCC staff Cheryl King and Suzy Rosen Singleton (who was facilitating a concurrent meeting.)

Consensus was reached to add to the next meeting's agenda to have FCC staff provide a brief overview of the relevant work and rules of the FCC, perhaps for the past two years. This will assist DAC members in their task to identify gaps and produce recommendations for solutions.

Public Comments.

- Deana (Dee) Boeau, from Sarasota, Florida, expressed concern about captioning quality being thwarted by cut rate captioning contracts in the area.. She was advised that the captioning quality rules go into effect on March 16, 2015.
- Jeremy Jacks, Vice President of CAGG, wanted to commend the FCC and the DAC members for their work, and to encourage them to continue to consult with the industry and experts in formulating recommendations.
- Mark Hill, Cerebral Palsy and Deaf Organization, encouraged the DAC to address the issue of dual relay services and the importance of outreach.
- Dana Mulvaney encourages the creation of a mechanism that allows for public input from stakeholders about issues relevant to the work of the DAC.

The future meeting dates of the DAC were announced to be Tuesday, June 23, 2015, and Thursday, October 8, 2015. The DAC Chair, Andrew Phillips, thanked CTIA and Matt Gerst for the generous sponsorship of the breakfast and lunch for the DAC members and subcommittee members.

Meeting was adjourned.

Appendix A Disability Advisory Committee Roll Call March 17, 2015

	Last Name	First Name	Org. Represented	
Y	Bacon	Everette	National Federation of the Blind	
N	Bailey (alternate)	Bruce	U.S. Access Board	
N	Barnes (alt)	Gregory	Digital Media Assocation (DiMA)	
N	Becker	JoAnn	Perkins School for the Blind	
	Bell (alternate)	Avonne	TIA	
	Bibler	Ron	Consumer	
	Bobeck (alt)	Ann	National Association of Broadcasters	
	Bridges	Eric	ACB	
	Brooks (alternate)	Marcia	Perkins School for the Blind	
	Burstein	Diane	NCTA	
	Claypool	Henry	AAPD	
	Cooke	Kari	National Black Deaf Advocates	
	Creagan	Timothy P.	U.S. Access Board	
	Dunne	Toni	Intrado Inc.	
	Fields (alt)	Sabrina	Maryland Relay	
	Fletcher (alternate)	Mark	Avaya, Inc.	
	Forstall	James	TEDPA	
	Gerst	Matthew	CTIA - the Wireless Association	
	Goldberg	Larry	YAHOO!	
	Guinivan (alt)	Phyllis	Center for Disability Studies, CEHD	
	Hamlin	Lise	Hearing Loss Association of America	
	Joehl	Sam	SSB BART Group	
	Jones	Gay	U.S. Department of Homeland Security	
	Kelly-Frey	Brenda	NASRA	
	Knife	Lee	Digital Media Assocation (DiMA)	
	Kramer	Jeff	Verizon	
	LaManna (alt)	Eva	AAPD	
	Luckett (alternate)	Jill	NCTA	
	Martinez	Eddie	Columbia Lighthouse for the Blind	
	Mazrui	Susan	AT&T Services, Inc.	
	Michaelis	Paul	Avaya, Inc.	
	Mitchell	Helena	Wireless RERC	
	Nygren	Maggie	AAID	
	Parkins (alt)	Jerry	Comcast Cable	
	Phillips	Andrew	National Association of the Deaf	
	Pila	Joshua	Meredith Corporation	

Podey (alternate)	Stephanie	NCTA
Rafi	Abe	The Arc
Rarus (alt)	Nancy	Deaf Seniors of America
Ray	Richard	City of Los Angeles
Reid (alternate)	Blake	Colorado Law
Reynolds	Alexander	Consumer Electronics Association
Richert	Mark	AFB
Rohaly	Ann Marie	TIA
Rosenblum (alt)	Howard	National Association of the Deaf
Sonnenstrahl	Al	Deaf Seniors of America
Stout	Claude	TDI, Inc.
Tan (alternate)	Jamie	AT&T Services, Inc.
Taylor	Jamie	Deaf Blind Citizens in Action
Thompson	Hannah	Consumer
Tobias	Jim	Inclusive Technologies
Tua-Tupuola	Tafaimameo	American Samoa Community College
Vogler	Christian	Gallaudet RERC
Wlodkowski	Thomas	Comcast Cable
Yousuf	Mohammed	U.S. Department of Transportation
Yunashko	Bryen	Helen Keller National Center

FCC Employees: Crawford, Rosaline Gardner, Elaine Hlibok, Greg King, Cheryl Monteith, Kris Singleton, Suzy Rosen Strauss, Karen Peltz Vogus, Caitlin

Appendix B: Agenda Federal Communications Commission Disability Advisory Committee (DAC) March 17, 2015 Agenda

8:30 a.m.	Arrival; Meet and Greet Commission Meeting Room	Andrew Phillips and Elaine Gardner
9:00 a.m.	Karen Peltz Strauss, Deputy Chief, Consun	Office of Chairman Tom Wheeler mer and Governmental Affairs Bureau mer and Governmental Affairs Bureau Ilibok, Chief, Disability Rights Office
9:20 a.m.	Introduction of DAC members	
11:00 a.m.	Overview of DAC Overview of Federal Advisory Committee Act (FAC Overview of Subcommittees	Elaine Gardner Paula Silberthau Andrew Phillips
11:35	Welcome by Commissioner Michael O'Rielly	
11:45 a.m.	Lunch Break	
12:45 p.m.	Subcommittee Meetings (Open to Subcommittee Me Relay/Equipment Distribution Subcommittee Commission Meeting Room	embers Only) Facilitator: Caitlin Vogus
	Communications Subcommittee Rooms TW-A402/TW-A442	Facilitator: Rosaline Crawford
2:00 p.m.	Break	
2:15 p.m.	Video Programming Subcommittee Commission Meeting Room	Facilitator: Suzy Rosen Singleton
	Emergency Subcommittee Rooms TW-A402/TW-A442	Facilitator: Cheryl King
3:30 p.m.	Break	
3:45 p.m.	Reconvene DAC Meeting Review Subcommittee Activities	Andrew Phillips
4:30 p.m.	Public Participation	
4:50 p.m.	Closing Remarks and Next Meeting Date	
5:00 p.m.	Adjournment	