Disability Advisory Committee (DAC) Meeting Minutes October 16, 2017

Certified by Sam Joehl – November 21, 2017

On October 16, 2017, the third meeting of the second term of the DAC was opened by the DAC Co-Chairs Lise Hamlin of the Hearing Loss Association of America, and Sam Joehl of Level Access. Welcoming remarks were given by Karen Peltz Strauss, Deputy Chief of the Commission's Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau. The DAC Co-Chairs then requested a roll call of the members present. The dates of February 28, 2018 and June 14, 2018 were announced as the next DAC meeting dates.

Next, Suzy Rosen Singleton, Chief of the Disability Rights Office (DRO), provided updates on DRO's recent activities, including updates on the National DeafBlind Equipment Distribution Program, accessible video programming, accessible emergency alerts, and hearing aid compatibility.

The Federal Communications Commission Chairman, Ajit Pai, addressed the DAC and thanked members for their participation. Chairman Pai remarked on the FCC's commitment to accessibility and the recent implementation of new rules as well as the improvement of existing rules that affect people with disabilities. The Chairman closed his remarks by stating that he looks forward to learning more about the recommendations presented by the DAC at this meeting.

Eliot Greenwald, Deputy Chief of the DRO and Special Assistant to the Bureau Chief for Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS) provided updates on the DRO's activities regarding TRS, including a trial of skills-based routing and the setting of new TRS rates.

Richard Ray, of the Disability Rights Office of the City of Los Angeles and Co-Chair of the DAC Emergency Communications Subcommittee, then gave a report on that subcommittee's activities. Linda Vandeloop, of AT&T Services, Inc., read the subcommittee's recommendation to the DAC on Accelerating Public Safety Answering Point Adoption of Real-Time Text. After discussion, a motion was made and seconded to adopt the subcommittee's recommendation. The motion was passed, and the recommendation was adopted by the DAC.

Following a break, Thomas Wlodkowski of Comcast Cable, and Co-Chair of the Video Programming Subcommittee, along with Anthony Stephens of the American Council of the Blind, gave a report on the Video Programming Subcommittee's recent activities. The subcommittee expects to have a recommendation at the next DAC meeting regarding how to describe images that display critical details of emergency information shown on television. The subcommittee is also looking at other topics such as improving the accuracy of television listings that include audio description and how to best maintain closed caption and audio description files when they are transferred between platforms or content providers.

Next, Gay Jones and Linda Mastandrea from the Federal Emergency Management Agency

(FEMA), Office of Disability Integration and Coordination, gave a presentation on the general Federal response to recent hurricanes and other disasters, including situations on the ground and communication access issues for people with disabilities. Wade Witmer from FEMA's Integrated Public Alert and Warning System (IPAWS) gave a presentation on how the alerting system works. Chris Anderson from the FCC's Office of Emergency Management discussed the FCC's response to the hurricanes. Also, Rochelle Garrow of the National Association of State Relay Administrators shared information about relay service interruptions and actions during the hurricanes. After these presentations, questions and discussion related to the hurricanes and other disasters occurred.

FCC Commissioner Brendan Carr welcomed the DAC and expressed his appreciation for all of the DAC's hard work and recommendations. Commissioner Carr remarked that he recently was a panel member on an accessibility workshop at an international conference in Argentina. He described how he spoke about the DAC and how it provides great value to the FCC and helps the United States continue to be a world leader in accessibility.

After a break for lunch that was sponsored by Dish Network, Pamela Holmes of Ultratec/CapTel, and Co-Chair of the Relay and Equipment Distribution Subcommittee, gave a report on the subcommittee's activities. Her Co-Chair, Rochelle Garrow of the National Association for State Relay Administration read the subcommittee's recommendation to the DAC on Methods for Assessing the Quality of IP Captioned Telephone Service (IPCTS). After discussion, a motion was made and seconded to adopt the subcommittee's recommendation. The motion was passed, and the recommendation was adopted by the DAC.

Next, Zainab Alkebsi of the National Association of the Deaf, and Co-Chair of the Technology Transitions Subcommittee, gave a report on the subcommittees activities. Her Co-Chair, Linda Vandeloop of AT&T Services, Inc. read the subcommittee's recommendation to the DAC on RTT Implementations with Refreshable Braille Displays. After discussion, a motion was made and seconded to adopt the subcommittee's recommendation. The motion was passed, and the recommendation was adopted by the DAC.

Following a break, a call for new business was made. Christian Vogler of Gallaudet RERC raised the issue that many assistive technologies that use Wi-Fi may be vulnerable to hacking because of a recent announcement of a Wi-Fi security vulnerability. Mr. Vogler pointed out that accessible communication services and other assistive technologies should use encryption to protect user's privacy. As a path forward, Mr. Vogler recommends one of the subcommittees review the issue and potentially make recommendations to secure the privacy of our calls. No further new business was raised. The meeting was opened for public comment and none was provided.

Next, a few of the DAC members gave updates about what their organizations are doing. Closing remarks were made by the Co-Chairs, Lise Hamlin and Sam Joehl.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 3:15 PM.

Disability Advisory Committee Members in Attendance

October 16, 2017

Last Name	First Name	Organization Represented
Alkebsi	Zainab	National Association of the Deaf (NAD)
Bacon	Everette	National Federation of the Blind (NFB)
Bastien	Zach	Verizon
Berrier	Jerry	Perkins School for the Blind
Bibler	Ron	Consumer
Card	John	DISH Networks
Creagan	Tim	U.S. Access Board (ex officio)
Davert	Scott	Helen Keller National Center
Goldberg	Larry	Yahoo, Inc.
Guinivan	Phyllis	Association of University Centers on Disability
Hamlin	Lise	Hearing Loss Association of America
Joehl	Sam	Level Access
Jones	Gay	U.S. Department of Homeland Security, FEMA (ex officio)
Burstein	Diane	National Cable & Telecommunications Association (NCTA)
Martinez	Eddie	TCS Associates
Mitchell	Helena	Wireless Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center
Niyongabo	Isidore	National Black Deaf Advocates
Pila	Joshua	National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
Powderly	Tim	Apple, Inc.
Rafi	Abe	The ARC
Ray	Richard	City of Los Angeles, Disability Rights
Graves	Kara	CTIA - the Wireless Association
Salaets	Ken	Information Technology Industry Council
Scarpelli	Brian	ACT, the App Association
Stephens	Tony	American Council of the Blind
Stout	Claude	Telecommunications for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Inc. (TDI)
Taylor	Jamie	Deaf Blind Citizens in Action
Vandeloop	Linda	AT&T Services, Inc.
Vogler	Christian	Gallaudet RERC
Yunashko	Bryen	Consumer
Wlodkowski	Thomas	Comcast Cable
Nemeth	Rachel	CTA

CGB Staff

Karen Peltz Strauss
Suzy Rosen Singleton
Eliot Greenwald
Elaine Gardner
Will Schell

Michael Scott Sue Bahr Robert McConnell Karl Simmonds ShaVonne Morris