UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

TECHNOLOGICAL ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING

Friday, June 21, 2024

The advisory committee met in-person at the FCC (45 L Street NE, Washington, D.C. 20554) and via Microsoft Teams video teleconference, at 10:00 AM Eastern time, Dean Brenner, Chair, presiding.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT:

First Name	Last Name	Company Representing
Shahid	Ahmed	NTT LTD
Rob	Alderfer	Charter Communications, Inc.
Mark	Bayliss	Visual Link Internet
Donna	Bethea-Murphy	Viasat
Dean	Brenner	TAC Chair and Aira Technologies
Michael	Cataletto	Scientel Solutions, LLC
Ranveer	Chandra	Microsoft Corporation
Lynn	Claudy	NAB
Andrew	Clegg	Wireless Innovation Forum
Martin	Cooper	Dyna LLC
Carlos	Cordeiro	Intel
Brian	Daly	AT&T
Skyler	Ditchfield	GeoLinks
Adam	Drobot	Stealth Software Technologies, Inc.
Peter	Gammel	Ubilite, Inc.
Monisha	Ghosh	Wireless Insitute, Notre Dame
lain	Gillott	Wireless Infrastructure Association
Abhimanyu	Gosain	Northeastern University
Dick	Green	Liberty Global Corporation
Sachin	Gupta	National Rural Electric Cooperative Association
David	Gurney	Motorola Solutions Inc.
Dale	Hatfield	University of Colorado at Boulder
Jason	Jackson	Kyndryl
David	Kaufman	Amazon (Alternate Member)
Richard	Kessler	Marvell Technology, Inc.
Karri	Kuoppamaki	T-Mobile USA
Humberto	La Roche	Cisco Systems, Inc. (Alternate Member)
Tian	Lan	George Washington University
Gregory	Lapin	ARRL

Jason	Livingood	Comcast
Dan	Mansergh	Apple Inc.
Brian	Markwalter	Consumer Technology Association
Lynn	Merrill	NTCA - The Rural Broadband Association
Amit	Mukhopadhyay	Nokia
Jack	Nasielski	Qualcomm Incorporated
Bridget	Neville	Sirius XM Radio Inc.
Roger	Nichols	Keysight Technologies, Inc.
Madeleine	Noland	ATSC
Timothy	O'Shea	DeepSig Inc.
Bejoy	Pankajakshan	Mavenir Systems, Inc.
Jon	Peha	Metro 21, Smart Cities Institute
Robert	Rainhart	HawkEye 360, Inc.
Michael	Regan	Telecommunications Industry Association
Thomas	Sawanobori	СТІА
Henning	Schulzrinne	Columbia University
Marvin	Sirbu	Carnegie Mellon University
LiChing	Sung	NTIA
Ardavan	Tehrani	Samsung
Rikin	Thakker	NCTA - The Internet & Television Association
Michelle	Thompson	Open Research Institute, Inc.
David	Young	ATIS

COMMISSION STAFF PRESENT:

First Name	Last Name	Title
Ronald	Repasi	Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology
Martin	Doczkat	Designated Federal Officer
Sean	Yun	Deputy Designated Federal Officer
Darice	Gamble	Lead Records & Info Management Specialist

SUMMARY:

The advisory committee meeting began at 10:00 AM Eastern time with opening remarks from the Technological Advisory Council (TAC) Chair, Dean Brenner emphasizing the importance of the timely working groups' ongoing effort on recommendations on spectrum sharing, AI/ML, and 6G to close the digital divide. The TAC strives to provide the best possible input, noting that "all of these technology developments are important in isolation from one another, but these technologies are even more significant and impactful when viewed together."

The TAC Chair's remarks were followed by remarks from OET Chief Ronald Repasi, expressing his appreciation and importance of TAC's WG activities looking forward to actionable recommendations.

The OET Chief's remarks were followed by remarks from the DFO Martin Doczkat and Deputy DFO Sean Yun, thanking TAC members for their commitment and participation.

Records Management: Darice Gamble, Lead Record & Info Management Specialist of OMD, reviewed records keeping responsibilities under FACA rules that apply to all records regardless of their format whether paper, recording, visual, audio, or electronic. Some records may be permanent to be transferred to National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) and some may be temporary that can be destroyed after certain amount of time according to record retention schedule. Every TAC member is responsible of creating and maintaining complete and accurate records pertaining to TAC's business activities, by providing the DFO with all documents, deliberations, and decisions to be preserved. All emails to be copied to the DFO and the specific TAC mailbox <u>TAC@fcc.gov</u>.

Advanced Spectrum Sharing: The WG Chairs Andrew Clegg and Monisha Ghosh presented slides to review initial discussions of each charter item noting that the WG will continue its discussions and may invite input from other subject matter experts in the coming months to evolve into recommendations.

<u>Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning (AI/ML)</u>: The WG Chairs Lisa Guess and Adam Drobot reviewed the AI/ML WG charters, background and context of AI/ML adoption dimensions, presented 12 major use cases and priorities of AI/ML in telecommunications, and provided a list of planned deliverables and prospective speakers.

<u>6G</u>: The WG Chairs Brian Daly and Manu Gosain reviewed the WG charters and highlighted standardization, development, and use cases of 6G referencing activities and timelines of 3GPP (Rel-20) and ITU (IMT-2030), including the ongoing IEEE 802.11 standards development status.

Meeting Presentation Slides: <u>https://www.fcc.gov/sites/default/files/06-21-</u>2024%20FCC%20TAC%20Meeting%20Slides%20Merged%20for%20Web.pdf

Video Link: <u>https://www.fcc.gov/news-events/events/2024/06/technological-advisory-council-meeting-june-21-2024</u>

AGENDA:

10:00 am – 10:15 am	Opening Remarks
10:15 am – 10:25 am	Records Management Overview
10:25 am – 11:05 am	Advanced Spectrum Sharing WG Presentation
11:05 am – 11:45 am	AI/ML WG Presentation
11:45 am – 12:25 pm	6G WG Presentation
12:25 pm – 12:30 pm	Closing Remarks
12:30 pm	Adjourned

SIGNED, COMMITTEE CHAIR

Dean Brenner

Date