INFORMAL WORKING GROUP 1 OF THE 2027 WORLD RADIOCOMMUNICATION CONFERENCE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

July 24, 2024

The Informal Working Group 1 (IWG-1) of the 2027 World Radiocommunication Conference Advisory Committee (WAC-27) was convened for its third meeting at 11:00 A.M. Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) on July 24, 2024, virtually, by the chair Mr. Kim Kolb of the Boeing Company. The meeting was open to the public for the entirety of the meeting.

1. Opening Remarks and Introduction

Mr. Kolb provided opening remarks and introduced himself as the chair for the IWG-1 meetings.

WAC-27 members in attendance included:

Member	Organization	Title and/or Affiliation
Reza Arefi	Apple	Emerging Spectrum Strategies & Engineering
Navid Motamed	AT&T	AVP – Public Policy
Nicholas Shrout (Vice- Chair)	Aviation Spectrum Resources, Inc.	RF Engineer
Kim Kolb (Chair)	Boeing	Associate Technical Fellow
Michael Mullinix	CTIA	Vice President, Regulatory Affairs
Sarah Leggin	CTIA	Assistant Vice President, Regulatory Affairs
George John	Fleet Space	Senior Associate - Hogan Lovells US LLP
Giselle Creeser	Intelsat	Director, Spectrum Strategy & Engineering
Damon Ladson	Iridium	Technical Policy Advisor
Scott Kotler	Lockheed Martin	Director, Regulatory Engineering
Frank Korinek	Motorola Solutions	Director of Government Affairs
Aspa Paroutsas	Qualcomm	Vice President, Federal Regulatory Affairs
Judy Deng	SES	Senior Manager, Spectrum Management & Development
Ryan Henry	SES	Senior Manager, Spectrum Management & Development
Pascale Dumit	T-Mobile	Director for International Spectrum Policy
Daudeline Meme	Verizon	Vice President of Regulatory Affairs

Max Solondz	Verizon	Distinguished Member of the Technical St
Brennan Price	Viasat	Director, Regulatory Affairs

Observers in attendance included:

Observer	Organization and Affiliation	
Carmelo Rivera	Advantage Consulting & Engineering Services representing Department of Navy Chief Information Officer	
Konstantinos Stefanidis	ASRC Federal	
Kellen Gibson	Defense Information Systems Agency	
Chandler Haugh	Freedom Tech Inc.	
Andy Feltman	HII Mission Technologies representing Department of Defense Chief Information Officer	
Franz Zichy	HII Mission Technologies representing Department of Defense Chief Information Officer	
Tanin Izadi	HII Mission Technologies representing Department of Defense	
Jack Wengryniuk	HII Mission Technologies representing Department of Defense Chief Information Officer	
Anum Pirzada	Intelsat	
Tim Maguire	National Aeronautics and Space Administration	
Chris Hough	National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration	
Edna Prado	National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration	
Tomasz Wojtaszek	National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration	
Amy Sanders	National Telecommunications and Information Administration	
Brian Patten	National Telecommunications and Information Administration	
Bruce Lamb	National Telecommunications and Information Administration	
Eric Lee	National Telecommunications and Information Administration	
Shelli Rose Haskins	National Telecommunications and Information Administration	
Scott Palo	SpectrumX	
Jonathan Siverling	The American Radio Relay League	
Jeff Baenke	UScellular	

FCC designated federal officials in attendance included:

FCC Representative	Role
Allen Yang	IWG-1 Designated Federal Coordinator
Dante Ibarra	IWG-1 Designated Federal Coordinator
Gregory Baker	WAC-27 Designated Federal Official

2. Approval of the Agenda for the 3rd Meeting of IWG-1 (Document: IWG-1_011R1_Agenda_3rd_Meeting (07.24.24))

Mr. Kolb provided the meeting with document IWG-1_011R1 and sought approval of the agenda for the third meeting of the IWG-1. The agenda was approved unanimously.

3. Approval of the Minutes of the 2nd Meeting of IWG-1 (Document: IWG-1_009R1 - Minutes of the 2nd Meeting)

Mr. Kolb provided the meeting with document IWG-1_009R1 and sought approval of the minutes for the second meeting of the IWG-1. The minutes were approved unanimously.

4. Appointment of Minutes Taker

Mr. Shrout volunteered to take the minutes of the meeting and he was appointed by Mr. Kolb as the minutes taker.

5. Update from National Telecommunications and Information Administration Radio Conference Subcommittee

Mr. Eric Lee indicated that the National Telecommunications and Information Administration Radio Conference Subcommittee has no updates to provide.

6. International Meetings – Update

No updates on international meetings were provided.

7. IWG-1 Agenda Items (Document: IWG-1 010 - Updates to AI 1.9 PV)

Mr. Kolb indicated no contributions were received regarding WRC-27 Agenda Items (Als) 1.8, 2, 4, 8 and 10.

Mr. Kolb indicated a contribution on WRC-27 Al 1.9 was received and he provided the meeting with document IWG-1_010. The document provided a preliminary view on Al 1.9. Comments regarding the document were raised and Mr. Kolb requested the meeting provide any comments, revisions, and/or proposals to the IWG-1 email thread for consideration at the fourth IWG-1 meeting.

8. IWG-1 Agenda Item Proposals Coordinators

Mr. Kolb sought coordinators or leads to draft material for Als 1.8 and 1.9. No individuals were appointed as coordinators at this meeting.

9. Future Meetings

Mr. Kolb informed the IWG-1 of the next scheduled IWG and WAC meetings. The next IWG-1 meeting is scheduled for July 31, 2024 starting at 11:00 A.M. and ending at 12:30 P.M. EDT. The deadline for input contributions to the meeting is the preceding Friday at close of business EDT. The next WAC meeting is scheduled for August 5, 2024 starting at 9:30 A.M EDT.

10. Other Business

No other business was discussed.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 11:20 A.M. EDT

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

Kim Kolb Chair, IWG-1 Boeing

These minutes will be formally considered by IWG-1 at its next meeting, and any corrections or notations will be incorporated in the minutes of that meeting.