Meeting Minutes

Meeting: WAC-27, Informal Working Group 2: Mobile and Fixed Services (IWG-2)

<u>Date/Time:</u> July 17, 2024 / 2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. (ET)

Location: Zoom/Teleconference only

Committee Members & Observers Present:

Chair: Daudeline Meme (Verizon) Vice Chair: Reza Arefi (Apple)

For additional members and observers present, see attached Appendix.

FCC Employees Present:

Gregory Baker, DFO for WAC-27, Dante Ibarra, Alternate DFO for WAC-27, Louis Bell, Jeffery Deveraux, Donna Wang, and Allen Yang were present.

Meeting Summary:

1. Opening Remarks and Introductions

IWG-2 Chair Daudeline Meme provided opening remarks; confirmed FCC participation; and requested attendees to update their names on Zoom to include affiliation. She stressed the need to work collaboratively to reach consensus on recommendations to the FCC for the agenda items assigned to IWG-2.

2. Approval of Agenda and Minutes

The agenda was updated to reflect comments received from Lockheed Martin and NCTA/Charter. The agenda in Document IWG-2/006 (07.17.24) was approved. The minutes of the previous meeting in Document IWG-2/005 (07.17.24) was approved. Mr. Arefi offered to take the minutes.

3. Updates

No updates were received from the FCC. Ms. Sanders (NTIA) stated there has been no activity on Agenda Items 1.7 and 1.10 in the RCS. RCS is reviewing the IWG-2 input documents.

4. Initial Discussions towards Development of IWG-2 Preliminary Views

- a. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.7: Mr. Mullinix (CTIA) introduced Document IWG-2/007 (07.17.24) and discussed the edits received from NCTA/Charter and Lockheed Martin. Mr. Kotler (Lockheed Martin) and Mr. Thakker (NCTA) discussed submission of edits. Mr. Kolb (Boeing), Mr. Motamed (AT&T) and Mr. John (Fleet Space) provided comments. There will be an offline on Tuesday, July 23, 2024 to discuss the PV. Chair requested the output of the offline to be sent by COB Tuesday for consideration at next the IWG-2 meeting.
- b. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.10: Mr. Motamed introduced Document IWG-2/008 (07.17.24) and stated that no comments were received. Chair indicated that if no additional comments are submitted, the PV can be considered for approval at the next IWG-2 meeting.
- **5.** Status of IWG-2 Preliminary Views and Proposals

Chair briefly discussed chart of relevant IWG-2 and CITEL documents.

6. Future Meetings

- IWG-2
 - o Wednesday, July 24, 2024; 2:00-4:00 pm ET
 - o Wednesday, July 31, 2024; 2:00-4:00 pm ET
- WAC
 - o Monday, August 5, 2024; 9:30-10:30 am ET

The Chair noted that the deadline for submission of documents to the WAC is the final IWG-2 meeting on July 31, 2024.

7. Any Other Business

No other business was raised. Meeting ended at 2:50 pm ET.

Documents Distributed:

IWG-2/005	Meeting 1 Minutes
IWG-2/006	Meeting 2 Agenda
IWG-2/007	AI 1.7 Draft PV
IWG-2/008	AI 1.10 Draft PV

Public Participation Statement:

Meeting IWG-2/2 (07.17.2024) was open to the public as announced by Public Notice, <u>DA-24-473</u> (May 17, 2024) and had 26 members, 22 observers, 2 IWG-2 officials and 4 FCC employees in attendance.

Author:

Reza Arefi (Apple) prepared these minutes.

Certification:

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

Daudeline Meme Chair, IWG-2 Verizon

These minutes will be formally considered by IWG-2 at its next meeting, and any corrections or notations will be incorporated in the minutes of that meeting.

Appendix: Additional Attendees at July 17, 2024 Meeting of IWG-2

Members:

Organization	Member Name
ASRI	Nic Shrout
AT&T	Navid Motamed
Boeing	Brandon Mitchell, Kim Kolb
Charter	Audrey Mikula, Rob Alderfer
CTIA	Sarah Leggin, Mike Mullinix,
Ericsson	Mark Racek
Fleet Space	George John
GSMA	Veena Rawat
Intel	Jayne Stancavage
Intelsat	Anum Pirzada
Iridium	Damon Ladson
Lockheed Martin	Scott Kotler
Microsoft	Michael Daum
Motorola Solutions	Frank Korinek
NAB	Robert Weller
NCTA	Rikin Thakker
Qualcomm	Aspa Paroutsas
Samsung	Ardavan Tehrani
SES	Ryan Henry, Judy Deng
T-Mobile	Pascale Dumit
US Cellular	Jeff Baenke
Viasat	Christopher Bair

Observers:

- 1. Tito Alvarez, MITRE for DoD CIO
- 2. Elena DeJaco, FTI for NASA
- 3. Christine DiLapi, HII for DoD/CIO
- 4. Andy Feltman, HII for DoD/CIO
- 5. Kellen Gibson, DISA
- 6. Chandler Haugh, FTI
- 7. Chris Hough, NOAA
- 8. Tanin Izadi, HII for DoD/CIO
- 9. Prashant Krishnamurthy, SpectrumX
- 10. Bruce Lamb, NTIA
- 11. Eric Lee, NTIA
- 12. Andrew Pegues, State Department
- 13. Alejandro Plate, Verizon
- 14. Carmelo Rivera, ACES for DON CIO
- 15. Zach Rosenbaum, DLA Piper
- 16. Amy Sanders, NTIA
- 17. Jason Szklany, ADS/NASA
- 18. Andre Tarpinian, HII for DoD/CIO
- 19. Courtney Tolerico, CTIA

- 20. Jack Wengryniuk, HII for DoD/CIO
- 21. Tomasz Wojtaszek, NOAA
- 22. Franz Zichy, HII for DoD/CIO