## **Meeting Minutes**

**Meeting:** WAC-27, Informal Working Group 2: Mobile and Fixed Services (IWG-2)

**<u>Date/Time:</u>** July 31, 2024 / 2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. (ET)

**Location:** Zoom/Teleconference only

#### **Committee Members & Observers Present:**

Chair: Daudeline Meme (Verizon) Vice Chair: Reza Arefi (Apple)

For additional members and observers present, see attached Appendix.

#### **FCC Employees Present:**

Gregory Baker, DFO for WAC-27; Dante Ibarra, Alternate DFO for WAC-27; Donna Wang; Eric Grodsky; and Allen Yang were present.

### **Meeting Summary:**

### 1. Opening Remarks and Introductions

IWG-2 Chair Daudeline Meme provided opening remarks; confirmed FCC participation; and requested attendees to update their names on Zoom to include affiliation.

# 2. Approval of Agenda and Minutes

The agenda in document IWG-2/012 (07.31.24) was approved. The minutes of the previous meeting in Document IWG-2/011 (07.31.24) was approved. Mr. Arefi will take the minutes.

#### 3. Updates

No updates were received from the FCC. Ms. Sanders (NTIA) informed IWG-2 that RCS has not met since the last IWG-2 meeting but plans to meet the following day, and will consider a draft PV on AI 1.7.

### 4. <u>Initial Discussions towards Development of IWG-2 Preliminary Views</u>

- a. <u>WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.7</u>: Mr. Mullinix (CTIA) reported on multiple offline discussions held, thanked the participants and introduced the latest version of **IWG-2/007r1** (07.31.24), which contains two alternatives for the U.S. View section that the offline discussions could not fully resolve. The Chair opened the floor for comments. Several members spoke in favor of either option, but the difference of opinions continued. The Chair asked the FCC for guidance. Mr. Baker (FCC) and Mr. Ibarra (FCC) consented to submitting the document to the WAC with the two alternatives for the U.S. View section.
- b. <u>WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.10:</u> Mr. Mullinix (CTIA) presented **IWG-2/008r1 (07.31.24)** on behalf of Mr. Motamed (AT&T) and reported that offline discussions resulted in some changes to the Background section but the U.S. View is unchanged from the previous version. The Chair opened the floor for comments. No comments were received. The Chair sought approval. The document was approved.

## 5. Status of IWG-2 Preliminary Views and Proposals

The Chair indicated status of relevant IWG-2 and CITEL documents in chart.

### **6.** Future Meetings

- WAC
  - o Monday, August 5, 2024; 9:30-10:30 am ET

### 7. Any Other Business

No other business was raised. Meeting ended at 14:41 ET.

### **Documents Distributed:**

IWG-2/007r1 AI 1.7 Draft PV IWG-2/008r1 AI 1.10 Draft PV IWG-2/011 Meeting 3 Minutes IWG-2/012 Meeting 4 Agenda

### **Public Participation Statement:**

Meeting IWG-2/4 (07.31.2024) was open to the public as announced by Public Notice, <u>DA-24-473</u> (May 17, 2024) and had 30 members, 18 observers, 2 IWG-2 officials and 5 FCC employees (including DFO and alternate DFO) in attendance.

#### **Author:**

Reza Arefi (Apple) prepared these minutes.

#### **Certification:**

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

Daudeline Meme Chair, IWG-2 Verizon

These minutes will be formally considered by IWG-2 at its next meeting, and any corrections or notations will be incorporated in the minutes of that meeting.

## Appendix: Additional Attendees at July 31, 2024 Meeting of IWG-2

## **Members:**

Organization	Member Name
ASRI	Nic Shrout
ARRL	Jonathan Silverling
Boeing	Brandon Mitchell, Kim Kolb
Charter	Audrey Mikula, Rob Alderfer
CTIA	Mike Mullinix, Sarah Leggin
Ericsson	Mark Racek
Fleet Space	George John
GSMA	Veena Rawat
Intelsat	Anum Pirzada, Giselle Creeser
Iridium	Damon Ladson
Lockheed Martin	Scott Kotler
Motorola Solutions	Frank Korinek
NAB	Robert Weller
NCTA	Rikin Thakker, Traci Biswese
Qualcomm	Aspa Paroutsas
Samsung	Ardavan Tehrani, Robert Kubic
SES	Ryan Henry, Judy Deng
T-Mobile	Pascale Dumit
US Cellular	Jeff Baenke
Viasat	Christopher Bair, Brennan Price
Verizon	Max Solondz
Wi-Fi Alliance	Alex Roytblat

## **Observers:**

- 1. Christine DiLapi, for DoD
- 2. Kellen Gibson, DISA
- 3. Chandler Haugh, FTI
- 4. Chris Hough, NOAA
- 5. Tanin Izadi, HII for DoD/CIO
- 6. Bruce Lamb, NTIA
- 7. Tim Maguire, NASA
- 8. Jennifer Manner, NTIA
- 9. Alan McIntyre, Southern Linc
- 10. Brian Patten, NTIA
- 11. Alejandro Plate, Verizon
- 12. Carmelo Rivera, ACES for DoD/CIO
- 13. Shelli Rose Haskins, NTIA
- 14. Zach Rosenbaum, DLA Piper
- 15. Amy Sanders, NTIA
- 16. Aisha Wilson, NTIA
- 17. Chip Yorkgitis, AFTRCC
- 18. Franz Zichy, HII for DoD/CIO