Meeting Minutes

<u>Meeting:</u> WAC-27, Informal Working Group 4: Mobile-Satellite and Space Science Services (IWG-4)

<u>Date/Time:</u> June 20, 2024 / 11:00 a.m. – noon (ET)

Location: Zoom/Teleconference only

Committee Members & Observers Present:

Chair: Damon Ladson (HWG Law for Iridium)

Vice Chair: George John (Hogan Lovells for Fleet Space) Additional members and observers: See attached Appendix

FCC Employees Present:

Gregory Baker, DFO for WAC-27; Dante Ibarra, Alternate DFO for WAC-27; Allen Yang; and Louis Bell confirmed their presence on the call.

Meeting Summary:

1. Opening Remarks and Introductions

IWG-4 Chair Damon Ladson and Vice Chair George John provided opening remarks. They thanked everyone for participating and underscored the importance of work at the IWG level. Procedural issues were addressed, including the requirement for participants to list their affiliation in their screen name on Zoom, as well as mechanics for the IWG-4 listserv.

2. Approval of Agenda and Appointment of Minutes Taker

The agenda in Document IWG-4/001 (06.20.24) was approved. Brennan Price (Viasat) volunteered to record minutes to be eventually recorded in Document IWG-4/002 (06.20.24).

3. Overview of WAC/IWG Operations

The Chair noted the WAC-27 working methods in Document WAC-27/003 (06.03.24); the IWG-4 terms of reference in Document IWG-4/003 (06.20.24); the guidelines for the preparation of preliminary views in Document IWG-4/004 (06.20.24); and the guidelines for preparation of proposals in Document IWG-4/005 (06.20.24). The timeline of upcoming WAC, ITU, and CITEL meetings in Document WAC-27/003 (06.03.24) was noted.

4. General Consideration of Frequency Bands for MSS Agenda Items

The Chair noted Document **IWG-4/006 (06.20.24)**, a chart illustrating the frequency bands under consideration in the mobile-satellite service Agenda Items 1.11, 1.12, 1.13, and 1.14, indicating certain frequency band segments under consideration in multiple agenda items. Participants were invited to consider this material in their work.

5. Status of RCS Inputs

IWG-4/002 (06.20.24)

Jennifer Manner (NTIA) confirmed that there had not yet been any transmission of preliminary views or proposals from the Radio Conference Subcommittee (RCS), although work in the RCS was underway.

6. Reports from Recent Meetings

Recent meetings of CITEL PCC.II, ITU-R Working Party 4C, and the ITU-R Study Group 7 Working Parties were discussed. Preliminary views on Agenda Items 1.13, 1.16, 1.17, and 1.19 were presented to the April 2024 PCC.II meeting in Montevideo, and participants were invited to take note of these preliminary views in their work.

7. Nomination of Coordinators for WRC-27 Agenda Items

a. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.11:

Mr. Ladson and Mr. Price agreed to serve as coordinators for this item.

b. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.12:

Mr. John agreed to serve as coordinator for this item.

c. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.13:

Mr. Ladson and Pascale Dumit (T-Mobile) agreed to serve as coordinators for this item.

d. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.14:

Mr. John tentatively agreed to serve as coordinator for this item.

e. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.15:

Scott Kotler (Lockheed Martin) agreed to serve as coordinator for this item.

f. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.16:

Mr. Ladson and Hastvar Barvar (Amazon) agreed to serve as coordinators for this item.

g. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.17:

Mr. Kotler agreed to serve as coordinator for this item.

h. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.18:

No coordinator was identified at this meeting.

i. WRC-27 Agenda Item 1.19:

Michael Mullinix (CTIA) and Brandon Mitchell (Boeing) agreed to serve as coordinators for this item.

j. WRC-27 Agenda Items 2 and 4:

Mr. Price agreed to serve as coordinator for these items.

k. WRC-27 Agenda Item 8:

Mr. Ladson agreed to serve as coordinator for this item.

IWG-4/002 (06.20.24)

m. WRC-27 Agenda Item 10:

Mr. John agreed to serve as coordinator for this item.

5. Future Meetings

The Chair noted that the scheduled Wednesday, July 3, 2024 meeting has been cancelled and that the next meeting of IWG-4 is scheduled for Friday, July 19, 2024 from 11:00 pm-1:00 pm ET. The next meeting of the WAC is scheduled for Monday, August 5, 2024.

6. Any Other Business

The meeting was closed at 11:48 am ET.

Documents Distributed:

IWG-4/001	Meeting 1 Agenda
IWG-4/002	Minutes for Meeting 1 [Reserved]
IWG-4/003	IWG-4 Terms of Reference
IWG-4/004	Template and Guidance for Draft Preliminary Views
IWG-4/005	Template and Guidance for Draft Proposals
IWG-4/006	Chart of Band Overlaps among Mobile-Satellite Service Agenda Items
WAC-27/003	Working Methods
WAC-27/005	Timeline

Public Participation Statement:

Meeting IWG-4/1 (06.20.2024) was open to the public as announced by Public Notice, <u>DA-24-473</u> (May 17, 2024) and had 28 members (including the IWG-4 Chair and Vice Chair), 16 identifiable observers, and 4 FCC employees in attendance. The Zoom roster indicated 25 entries with no affiliation, and in 12 cases no name.

Author:

Brennan Price, Viasat, prepared these minutes.

Certification:

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

Damon Ladson Chair, IWG-4 HWG Law for Iridium

These minutes will be formally considered by IWG-4 at its next meeting, and any corrections or notations will be incorporated in the minutes of that meeting.

Appendix: June 20, 2024 IWG-4 Meeting Attendees

Members:

Organization	Member Name
Amazon Project Kuiper	Alex Epshteyn
Apple	Dan Mansergh
AT&T	Navid Motamed
Boeing	Brandon Mitchell
Eutelsat	Ben Wagner, Arvin Tangestanian
Fleet Space	George John (IWG-4 Vice Chair)
GPSIA	Stephen Baruch
Intel	Jayne Stancavage
Intelsat	Giselle Creeser, Anum Pizada
Iridium	Tatiana Lawrence; Damon Ladson (IWG-4 Chair)
Lockheed Martin	Scott Kotler
Motorola Solutions	Frank Korinek
Nokia	Fabiano Chaves
Omnispace	Mindel De La Torre, Molly Gavin
Samsung	Robert Kubick
Secure World Foundation	Ian Christensen
SES	Ryan Henry
SpaceX	Brent Tarnutzer
T-Mobile	Pascale Dumit
UScellular	Narothum Saxena
Verizon	Daudeline Meme, Max Solondz
Viasat	Brennan Price, Christopher Bair

Observers:

- 1. Lauren Blechschmidt, Freedom Technologies
- 2. Colin Alberts, DISA/PEO Spectrum
- 3. Wayne Whyte, Teltrium for NASA
- 4. Christine DiLapi, HII for DoD/CIO
- 5. Andy Feltman, HII for DoD/CIO
- 6. Jennifer Manner, NTIA
- 7. Andrew Farguharson, Lockheed Martin
- 8. Marc Seibert, ASRC-ADS for NASA
- 9. Tanin Izadi, HII for DoD/CIO
- 10. Eric Lee, NTIA
- 11. Tim Maguire, ADS/NASA
- 12. Scott Palo, SpectrumX
- 13. Konstantinos Stefanidis, ASRC/NASA
- 14. Andrew Pegues, State Department
- 15. Shelli Rose Haskins, NTIA
- 16. Joseph Holliday, ComSat Architects for NASA